What dreams are made of…

For those of you that don’t know me…. I am an animal fanatic to say the least! From household pets to jungle cats I love them all! (Maybe not those rats, spiders and insects in-between but it’s mostly the same)

I don’t know if it’s from a history of pets being there to comfort me whenever I’m upset or the fact I’ve been very lucky with my pets and animal experiences to date but a very strong love and bond has been created and today has been a lifelong dream of mine for many, many years.

I met, stroked, cuddled, sat on, bathed and even got snotted on by many Asian Elephants today. And boy it didn’t disappoint!

They are very, very large creatures that live up to 70/80 years of age and can be quite intimidating to many (as we saw today – grown men refusing to get close!! Haha) however not to me!

Within ten minutes of getting up close I was petting, stroking and cooing into it’s face/ear/trunk – basically anything within reach whilst my friend stood on the sidelines weary at first. Before we knew it we were mounting the elephants (mine the largest and definitely the most difficult!) and I like to think I have kept a few of the qualities gymnastics at a young age does for you but it was not easy to balance on these!

To get on and off my elephant would kindly sit down and allow my to climb onto his leg and neck. I was weary at first but they definitely seem to enjoy the extra attention – particularly the 16 month pregnant one (she will not give birth until 20-22 months the poor thing!)

First is bathing the elephants (whilst their pooing in the river might I add) to cool them down then taking part on the elephant show where they do a whole host of tricks for the audience such as throwing balls, painting pictures and playing windchimes.

Before lunch we were able to meet the elephants in the hospital for recovery and medicines and the baby elephants which stay in the pen with their mothers until they are three.

After lunch (and even the food here did not disappoint) we did another round of bathing and the show before taking the elephants into the forest to retire for the night in their natural habitat.

Tomorrow we have another fun-packed morning with the elephants and leave at lunch time. I’ll try my hardest to keep in the tears but theirs no promises!

These majestic creatures are amazing! Very intelligent and intuitive and extremely friendly towards all visitors – especially those who feed them well!

The Thailand Elephant Conservation Centre in Lampang cares for these animals as if they were their own children. Each elephant has a dedicated Mahot (trainer) who helps to train, bathe, feed and exercise the elephant as well as ensuring the elephants health and safety is secured. I would recommend this centre to anybody remotely interested in animals – and even if you aren’t, you will be after one visit!
Note: we booked a 2-day home stay program

IMG_5618.JPG

IMG_5561.JPG

IMG_5642.JPG

IMG_5629.JPG

Leave a comment